Working It Out

24 Jan

Back when I ran track and was in good shape (I'm on the right by the way. We look very similar!)

Since coming back to school there has been one goal that I’ve had in my mind since the very start of winter break. This is something that is very personal to me and has pushed me to work harder everyday, even when I’m exhausted. This is of course the mission of losing weight. Now for those that know me you may think I’m being over dramatic, but a lot has changed since arriving at Union. One of those things just happens to be my pant size. I’ve found that one cannot be truly happy unless they are happy with themselves, internally and externally. Although I am a happy lady, I know that there are things that could be improved. Haven’t you ever felt the desire to be leaner and meaner? That’s what I’m talking about. I’ve put on close to 20 pounds since September 2010 (something that is hard to admit) and now it is time for that weight to be turned into lean muscle.

Therefore I have taken it upon myself to compose a new diet scheme and workout plan. This regimen includes exercise 5 days a week (Monday-Friday) and a healthy diet full of fruits, veggies, and delicious protein. The new diet itself is easier to maintain than the exercise regime. Some days I’m so tired the last thing I want to do is lace up my sneakers and hit the gym, but I force myself to go. I’ve found it’s also incredibly helpful to go with some friends as you motivate each other. Each day I remind myself of my goal and am therefore able to push myself harder. It also doesn’t hurt that I’ll be going to Paris for Spring break and I want to be slim and trim.

The New Food Pyramid: It even includes exercise!

My newest exercise plan goes something like this: Between 7:30 and 8:00 pm I arrive at the gym and hop on the cross trainer for a good twenty minutes. I try to push myself through the first workout in order to get pumped up for the second, more taxing part of the workout. I then head over to the treadmill and force myself to fast walk for five minutes before bringing my run. There was a time in my life when I could run 6 miles without pause, but that sadly that time has come and gone. These days I focus on doing a 2 mile run and if I want to get really crazy a 3 mile. Then I’ll head back to my dorm room for the third installment of my workout. At this point I literally have to force myself to put the Insanity workout DVD into the T.V. I will do between 15-20 minutes of one of the DVDs in order to really maximize my cardio workout before the fourth and final workout. Crunches. I usually like to put music on the speakers for these, but if my roomies are studying I’ll hit the rug sans pump up jams. This is probably my favorite part of the regime as I am able to actually lie down and relax between sets of crunches. Afterwards I’ll hit the showers and then a beautiful union with my bed will ensue.

Even though I literally want to fall down and die or spit up one of my lungs during this workout, I have to admit it is working. I’ve already lost three pounds and I feel much happier with myself. I’m actually able to see visible changes in my body already, and I couldn’t be happier to know that I’m taking control of things. I have gained endurance and have the ability to treat my body the way it should be treated. I’m also realizing how incredible the human body is, how it is able to gradually bounce back to the way it was with some hard work. I think this will teach me to respect my body that much more and to consistently strive to push myself farther and live healthier.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

