The End to a Great Year

7 Jun
girls

“It is by chance that we met, by choice that we became friends.”

Finishing my last final this morning, Abnormal Psychology, it suddenly hit me that this was it. Placing a period on my last sentence and standing up to leave, I realized that this was the last exam and the last day as a Freshman at Union. Part of me is excited by this fact and part of me is saddened. The majority of my friends have been on summer vacation for over two weeks by this point and I yearn to be free from the rigors of classes and final exams. I am excited to spend my summer hanging out with the friends I didn’t get to see during the course of the year and to work and save up enough money to buy a car to keep on campus next year. But I also have a lot of sadness. I don’t want to leave the incredible friends I have made here, I don’t want to spend the entire summer at home, I don’t want to have to say goodbye to this beautiful campus in order to return in the chilly fall. There are some things that are very hard to say goodbye to.

It was an incredible year full of firsts and fresh faces. I learned so much about other people and about myself moving out of my parents house into a dormitory full of new college students. There were times I had so much fun and times I wanted to cry from frustration. By the end of this year I have come to the conclusion that I am strong, at times a little out of my mind, and pushing closer and closer to adulthood with each passing day. I have learned how much strength it takes to get out of bed at 7 in the morning when it is snowing outside and all you want to do is curl up and sleep in your warm bed. I have learned how strong friendships can become here and how amazing it is to feel part of a family away from home. I have had run-ins with my RA, RD, and Campus Safety that have taught me how to cherish myself and truly respect those around me when living in such close proximity. I have attended my first college classes and gotten a taste of the rigorous course load, learned to study hard in order to do well. Overall I have embraced life here with open arms and enjoyed and grown from every second of it.

I wish the incoming Freshmen lots of luck for next year and hope that they stay true to themselves. You will all learn just as much as I have, if not more. Remember that in the beginning it can be a difficult transition, but by the end of the year it will all seem so easy and so much fun. Looking forward to seeing you all next year.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

